一些美國公民希望將刺激性的現金浪費在加密貨幣上

一些美國公民希望將刺激性的現金浪費在加密貨幣上

沒有什麼比用美聯儲發行的貨幣換購針對主流金融體系的數字對沖更能激起人們對美國經濟的信心了。

美國政府上週發行了超過8000萬張刺激性支票,每張價值1200美元。為了直接存入銀行帳戶,這筆款項旨在使受冠狀病毒感染的公民多花幾美元來支付必需品,食物和水電費等費用。

但是,似乎有一定比例的美國人可能決定將自己的美元換成加密貨幣,而不是在沃爾瑪,亞馬遜或其他任何地方花費刺激性支票。

Coinbase首席執行官布萊恩·阿姆斯特朗(Brian Armstrong)週五早些時候在推特上說,他的交易所價值1200美元的購買和存款數量突然激增。直到4月中旬,購買和存款總額的0.1%約為1200美元,然後突然飆升:本週上漲了近0.4%,大約在許多美國人開始接受刺激檢查的時候。

當然,不可能確定所有這些存款是否都是美國公民為政府發行的錢尋找新房。該圖未指定購買和存款之間的差異,因此某些客戶可能只是將錢存入了交易所。我們無法確定這些存款是否甚至來自美國

但是,儘管失業率飆升,但美國大部分地區仍在工作,並且仍獲得報酬。許多經濟上有保障的人可能決定投資而不是花費他們的刺激措施。

投資者不僅會憑藉刺激資金前往Coinbase。Binance在對CoinDesk講話時,美國發言人證實他們也看到1200美元的存款激增。該公司表示:“過去幾天來,人們確實確實向Binance.US存入1200美元。”

發言人補充說,增加證據的是,上週四還是向Binance.US存入美元的最大單日,超過一個月,但拒絕透露具體多少存款。

當COVID-19爆發擔憂在3月達到頂峰時,加密貨幣價格受到打擊,但此後有所回升。由於利率處於創紀錄的低點,而其他資產(如股票)的回報卻低迷,一些美國投資者可能會認為這是一個嘗試新資產類別的機會。

CoinDesk向Coinbase和其他交易所尋求進一步評論,但截至發稿時尚未收到任何回复。

閱讀更多

ETHoutlet
市場 20 4 月 2020

Some US Citizens Look to Be Splashing Their Stimulus Cash on Cryptocurrency

Some US Citizens Look to Be Splashing Their Stimulus Cash on Cryptocurrency

Nothing screams confidence in the U.S. economy more than swapping Federal Reserve-issued money for a digital hedge against the mainstream financial system.

The U.S. Government issued more than 80 million stimulus checks, each for $1,200, last week. To be deposited directly into bank accounts, the payment is intended to give citizens affected by the coronavirus a few extra dollars to pay for essentials, things such as food and utility bills.

But it appears that some proportion of Americans, instead of spending their stimulus check at Walmart, Amazon or wherever, may have decided to swap their dollars for crypto.

Coinbase CEO Brian Armstrong tweeted earlier on Friday that his exchange had experienced a sudden spike in the number of buys and deposits worth $1,200. Up until mid-April, around 0.1 percent of total buys and deposits had been for $1,200, then it suddenly spiked: up nearly 0.4 percent this week, around the time many Americans started receiving their stimulus checks.

Of course, it’s impossible to say for certain if all these deposits were U.S. citizens looking for a new home for their government-issued money. The graph doesn’t specify what the split between buys and deposits were, so it’s possible some customers may have simply parked their money in the exchange. We can’t tell if these deposits even came from the U.S.

But despite a soaring unemployment rate, most in the U.S. are still working and still getting paid. Many who are financially secure may have decided to invest, rather than spend, their stimulus checks.

Investors aren’t just heading over to Coinbase with their stimulus money. Speaking to CoinDesk, a Binance.US spokesperson confirmed they had also seen a spike in $1,200 deposits. “People do seem to have deposited exactly $1,200 into Binance.US in the past couple of days,” the firm said.

Adding to the evidence, last Thursday was also the single largest day for USD deposits into Binance.US for more than a month, the spokesperson added, but declined to go into the specifics of how many deposits that would be.

Crypto prices took a hit when COVID-19 outbreak fears peaked in March, but it has since rebounded. With interest rates at record lows, and other assets, like equities, reporting lackluster returns, some U.S. investors may see this is as an opportunity to take a punt on a new asset class.

CoinDesk reached out to Coinbase and other exchanges for further comment, but hadn’t received a response by press time.

Read More

ETHoutlet
Market 20 Apr 2020