美國最新的冠狀病毒減免法案剝奪了“數字美元”

美國最新的冠狀病毒減免法案剝奪了“數字美元”

在美國國會眾議院(國會兩院之一)之前,有關冠狀病毒的救濟法案中提到了“數字美元”。

週一晚間,眾議院民主黨最新版的“對工人和家庭承擔責任法”在其直接刺激支付部分中未包含圍繞“數字美元”的任何文字。

議員們在上週提出了該法案,設想了由美聯儲及其成員銀行組織的數字支付系統,將這些資金直接發送給美國居民,以協助他們在COVID-19緩解措施期間的開支,這已經導致大量失業以及潛在的嚴重衰退。

在最新的1,404頁的草案中,美國居民每人將獲得1,500美元,儘管收入超過75,000美元的個人和收入超過150,000美元的夫婦必須償還這筆資金。

從第1,090頁開始的詳細說明付款的部分似乎比以前的版本更不具體說明如何將這些付款發送給個人。

雖然眾議院議長南希·佩洛西(D-Calif。)星期一提出的法案草案不再包含圍繞數字美元的任何語言,但眾議員Maxine Waters(D-Calif。)提出的另一項法案題為“金融“美國消費者,州,企業和弱勢人口保護與援助法案”仍然提到了數字美元。

據知情人士透露,該語言也有望從該法案中刪除。

閱讀更多

 

ETHoutlet
市場 24 3 月 2020

‘Digital Dollar’ Stripped From Latest US Coronavirus Relief Bill

‘Digital Dollar’ Stripped From Latest US Coronavirus Relief Bill

Mentions of a “digital dollar” in a coronavirus-related relief bill before the U.S. House of Representatives – one of the two chambers of Congress – have been scrubbed.

House Democrats’ latest version of the “Take Responsibility for Workers and Families Act,” revealed late Monday, does not contain any language around a “digital dollar” in its section on direct stimulus payments.

The lawmakers introduced the bill last week, envisioning a digital payment system organized by the Federal Reserve and its member banks to directly send these funds to U.S. residents to assist them with expenses during the COVID-19 mitigation measures, which have already resulted in massive unemployment and a potentially severe recession.

In the latest 1,404-page draft, U.S. residents would receive $1,500 per person, though individuals with an income greater than $75,000 and couples with an income greater than $150,000 would have to repay the funds.

The section detailing the payments, which starts on page 1,090, appears to be less specific on how these payments would be sent to individuals than previous versions have been.

While the draft bill introduced by Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) on Monday no longer includes any language around a digital dollar, a separate bill introduced by Rep. Maxine Waters (D-Calif.), titled the “Financial Protections and Assistance for America’s Consumers, States, Businesses, and Vulnerable Populations Act,” still mentions the digital dollar.

The language is expected to be removed from that bill as well, according to a source familiar with the matter.

Read More

ETHoutlet
Market 24 Mar 2020