儘管有就地保護規則,但比特幣ATM仍在擴展

儘管有就地保護規則,但比特幣ATM仍在擴展

隱藏在雜貨店,加油站和交通樞紐的角落,加密自動櫃員機是“關鍵基礎設施行業”的一部分,在冠狀病毒傳染事件中仍然可以操作。還有一些正在蓬勃發展。

隨著基於區塊鏈的支付應用程序和娛樂平台的出現,隨著人們在網上花費更多的時間,用戶數量有所增加,加密和比特幣自動櫃員機(ATM)是該網絡的物理表現,似乎不太可能成為這一市場增長的輔助。

儘管廣泛的就地避難所裁決將人們留在室內,但一些比特幣ATM運營商報告交易增加,而其他比特幣ATM運營商則利用這種間歇性來擴展其網絡。

也許人們感到害怕並以最直接的方式準備:最近的自動取款機。與比特幣相關的Google搜索量激增,但對於錢包,私鑰和QR碼世界所嚇倒的許多人,比特幣ATM(有時稱為BTM)為這些“避風港”資產提供了方便的入口。

“即使在全球大流行期間,甚至在更大範圍內,比特幣和比特幣銷售點服務也可以滿足客戶參與下一代銀行,匯款和電子商務的基本需求,”聯合創始人馬克·格倫斯(Marc Grens)比特幣ATM運營商DigitalMint的創始人在電子郵件中表示。

大約95%的DigitalMint機器位於重要企業之內或之外,仍可供公眾使用。格倫斯說,儘管該公司的整體銷量“略有下降”,但“即使在鎖定期間,我們仍在不斷吸引新的和現有的客戶流量。”

自三月以來,DigitalMint已將其信息亭和櫃員服務擴展到波士頓,洛杉磯和費城的幾十個新地點。根據Coin ATM Radar的數據,ATM的總數從3月1日的7,023增加到4月1日的7,417台,增長了5.6%。

同樣,去年被授予“ BitLicense”在紐約運營的LibertyX終於開始擴展到該州的地點。首席執行官兼聯合創始人Chris Yim說:“在一個多月的時間裡,我們的ATM數量已從零增加到數百台。” 包括在全國范圍內的擴張,LibertyX在過去兩個月中增加了約1,000台新機器。

LibertyX並不擁有實際的物理機器,而是將軟件許可給Genmega和Hyosung製造的或由Payment Alliance International運營的非銀行ATM,而這又由全國的私人所有者維護。某些時候,LibertyX的軟件將默認安裝在新機器上,但是目前,ATM操作員必須手動更新其軟件以支持加密交易。

“從時間上來說,這有點不幸,” Yim說。但是,在隔離狀態下,“我認為這些操作員沒有其他事情要做。”

三月份,LibertyX的3,000個ATM網絡的交易量下降了約20%。“我們幾乎回到了COVID之前的狀態。” Yim補充說:“ 4月15日是我們ATM交易量最高的日子之一,許多納稅人收到刺激檢查的那一天。”

該公司還看到詢問該產品如何工作的客戶支持票增加了,這表明新用戶的興趣有所增加。

與LibertyX和DigitalMint不同,儘管其ATM網絡的覆蓋面不斷縮小,但最近的市場參與者報告其交易量激增。去年夏天收購了加密貨幣ATM初創公司Just Cash的控股權的Coinsquare表示,目前其800台自動櫃員機中約有350台無法訪問。

這些數字正在增加。更多機器,更多的整體交易,每筆交易更多的價值。

據首席執行官科爾·戴蒙德(Cole Diamond)稱,過去7天的平均交易規模比2019年的平均交易增長了167%。而整個月的平均交易規模比去年的平均增長了158%。

這些數字是驚人的。更少的機器,更多的整體交易,每筆交易的價值更高。“平均交易次數和平均數量是有史以來的最高水平。”

Coinsquare運營與LibertyX類似的業務模型,為非銀行ATM提供軟件以實現加密交易。他預計在未來幾個月內將向數千名新運營商推廣。

還是,這些東西不是細菌嗎?

實體銀行正在修改或縮減個人服務,就像所有試圖遵守社會疏遠指令的企業一樣。一些零售分支機構封鎖了對ATM的訪問,而另一些分支機構則轉換為“僅通過式”。

這是許多比特幣ATM製造商無法發揮的控制水平。作為軟件提供商或將機器特許經營權給私人所有者的公司,運營商應自行決定如何(如果他們願意)對這些屏幕進行消毒。

Grens,Yim和Diamond已與機器操作員聯繫,以推薦最佳消毒方法。但實際上他們無能為力。

任志剛說:“我們不應該強迫人們外出觸摸屏。” 他的公司與其他公司一樣,可變成本低,間接費用少,並且在經濟不景氣的時候幾乎獲得純利潤,他說,公司有一條路可以等待COVID-19危機。

格倫斯說:“儘管可能關閉了該國,但我們的生活和財務責任無法擱置。” “對我們的客戶而言,幸運的是,比特幣也從未停止過。”

閱讀更多

 

 

ETHoutlet
Market, 市場 19 4 月 2020

Bitcoin ATMs Expand Despite Shelter-in-Place Rules

Bitcoin ATMs Expand Despite Shelter-in-Place Rules

Tucked into corners of grocery stores, gas stations and transit hubs, crypto ATMs are part of the “critical infrastructure industry” still allowed to operate amid the coronavirus contagion event. And some are thriving.

With blockchain-based payments apps and entertainment platforms seeing a boost in users with people spending more time online, crypto and bitcoin ATMs, the physical manifestation of this network, seem an unlikely adjunct to this market growth.

Despite wide-reaching shelter-in-place rulings meant to keep people indoors, some bitcoin ATM operators are reporting an increase in transactions, while others are taking advantage of this intermission to expand their networks.

Perhaps people are scared and are prepping in the most immediate way: the nearest ATM. Bitcoin-related Google searches are skyrocketing, but for the many intimidated by the world of wallets, private keys and QR codes, bitcoin ATMs (sometimes called BTMs) provide a convenient onramp to these “safe haven” assets.

“Even during a global pandemic, and perhaps more so, Bitcoin and Bitcoin point-of-sale services meet our customers’ essential needs in participating in this next-generation of banking, remittance, and e-commerce,” Marc Grens, co-founder of DigitalMint, a Bitcoin ATM operator, said over email.

Approximately 95 percent of DigitalMint machines are located in or outside of essential businesses and still accessible to the public. While the firm has seen a “slight decline” in overall volumes, Grens said, “we’re still driving a consistent amount of new and existing customer traffic, even during the lockdown.”

Since March, DigitalMint has expanded its kiosk and teller services to a few dozen new locations in Boston, Los Angeles and Philadelphia. According to Coin ATM Radar, the total number of ATMs has increased 5.6 percent to 7,417 machines on April 1, up from 7,023 on March 1.

Similarly, LibertyX, which was granted a “BitLicense” to operate in New York last year, has finally begun to expand to locations in the state. “We’ve gone from zero to several hundred ATMs in a little over a month,” CEO & co-founder Chris Yim, said. Including expansions across the country, LibertyX has added approximately 1,000 new machines in the last two months.

LibertyX doesn’t own the actual physical machines, but licenses software to non-bank ATMs manufactured by Genmega and Hyosung, or operated by Payment Alliance International, which in turn are maintained by private owners across the country. At some point LibertyX’s software will be installed by default in new machines, but for now, ATM operators have to manually update their software to support crypto transactions.

“Timing-wise, it’s a little unfortunate,” Yim said. But, under quarantine, “I don’t think these operators have much else to do.”

Transaction volume across LibertyX’s 3,000 ATM network dropped approximately 20 percent in March. “We’re almost back to where we were pre-COVID.” Yim added: “April 15 was one of our highest volume ATM days, the day many taxpayers received their stimulus check.”

The company has also seen an increase in customer support tickets asking how the product works, suggesting an uptick in interest among new users.

Unlike LibertyX and DigitalMint, a recent market entrant is reporting a surge in transaction volume, despite the shrinking footprint of its ATM network. Coinsquare, which bought a controlling stake in crypto ATM startup Just Cash last summer, said about 350 of its 800 total ATMs are currently inaccessible.

THESE NUMBERS ARE STAGGERING. FEWER MACHINES, MORE OVERALL TRANSACTIONS, AND FAR MORE VALUE PER TRANSACTION.

According to CEO Cole Diamond, the average transaction size in the past seven days is up 167 percent compared to the average transaction in 2019. While the average transaction size for the entire month is up 158 percent on last year’s average.

“These numbers are staggering. Fewer machines, more overall transactions, and far more value per transaction,” Diamond said. “The average number, and average volume of transactions, is the highest it’s ever been.”

Coinsquare operates a similar business model to LibertyX, providing software to non-bank ATMs to enable crypto transactions. He expects to roll out to several thousand new operators in the coming months.

Still, aren’t these things germy?

Brick-and-mortar banks are modifying or curtailing in-person services, like all businesses trying to adhere to social distancing mandates. Some retail branches have cordoned off access to ATMs, while others are converting to “drive-through only.”

This is a level of control many Bitcoin ATM manufacturers are unable to exert. As providers of software, or companies that franchisee machines to private owners, it’s up to operators to determine how, if they choose to, sanitize these screens.

Grens, Yim and Diamond have reached out to machine operators to recommend best practices in disinfection. But there really isn’t much they can do.

“It’s not responsible for us to push people to go out and touch screens,” Yim said. His firm, like the others, has low variable costs, little overhead, and nearly pure profits when times are fat, and said there’s runway for the company to wait out the COVID-19 crisis.

“Although the country may be shut down, our lives and financial responsibilities cannot be put on hold,” Grens said. “Fortunately for our customers, Bitcoin never goes on hold, either.”

Read More

ETHoutlet
Market 19 Apr 2020